Beewatching’s Blog


Future Tomatoes
May 13, 2010, 10:17 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Where no veggie has gone before Last year I was so eager I planted my tomato seeds indoors in mid-February, which was quite a bit premature. Although most of the plants survived, they were pretty small and spindly by late May. This time, I waited until early April, so now they are still quite small, but I hope will become sturdy, because the weather should get significantly warmer soon. Still, I don’t feel I have the timing down exactly right yet. How do I get the quickest most robust seedlings? Listening to a portion of a fascinating DVD astronomy lecture series the other day, I think I may have stumbled upon the answer. The trouble is, it’s still just theory, and likely to remain so for a long time.

In fact, time is our friend in this theoretical tactic. According to some forward-thinking astronomers, there may be a way to go back in time without being turned into a frappé by the event horizon of a black hole. The lecturer I listened to showed a nifty diagram of a curved universe (actually multiple adjacent universes) with a route — via wormhole, of course — between the two event horizons of a spinning black hole. If you don’t pass through the event horizon, the thinking goes, you might somehow find a way to wind up at the other end of a wormhole that opens in the past or future.

You are wondering where I stepped off the tomato track. I didn’t. Here is what I figure: if you catch the right wormholes, you can plant your tomato seeds in July, when you KNOW it will be warm. A few weeks of growth later, before fall’s chill, you and your pots of tomato plants hop the wormhole back to mid-May. This gives you good size plants which get a double summer to grow! You bypass all the fickleness that is April. Ta-da! Prize winning tomatoes for the state fair. BLTs all around.

Back here on present day earth, the first three ripe strawberries got harvested. It’s time to put those tulle covers on the blueberries. And almost time to put the tomato babies outside.

The photo below is variegated Solomon’s Seal. The only care it needs is watering in the driest part of summer.

One of my shade garden favorites

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

