Beewatching’s Blog


Foliage springs up
April 11, 2009, 11:37 am
Filed under: 1, Garden, weather

I have a thing for interesting leaves. I also think tulip leaves are about the ugliest things in my garden, so it’s a good thing the blooms are so attractive. The first ones to show up in my yard are the variety, “Ice Stick”. Right now, the May apple, stonecrop and sweet woodruff have made an appearance, and the hostas are spearing their way through the soil. My next door neighbor has observed that her bleeding heart plant, so robust it is shrub-size, has begun blooming way ahead of schedule. This is a phenology observation that supports the reality of global warming. We humans are adaptable creatures, so we will manage. Now if the birds, plants and bugs can get coordinated, there is hope.

Leaves I like are shown below, along with leaves that I consider eyesores.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

